Where To Buy Essential Oils

As an aromatherapist, one of the questions I am frequently asked is where to buy essential oils, or which brands I recommend.

I know there are a lot of die-hard Young Living and DoTerra fans out there, but actually neither of those brands are ones that I get too excited about. For one, their pyramid-type selling isn’t something I want to be a part of. Secondly, while I do find the quality to be reliable, I think the prices are inflated and that there are many other companies distributing quality and ethical oils that deserve mention.

Here are four companies that I personally use and would recommend to my readers and clients:

1. Aura Cacia – Reasonably priced, I find these oils to be of a consistently good quality and suitable for use in aromatherapy treatments, personal care products and diffusion. I also like that they offer dilutions of some of the more expensive oils in pure jojoba oil (making it affordable to use oils like Rose Otto and Neroli in blends). They also offer an organic range which I use for facial serums, mouth washes and anything that goes into my home first-aid kit. For those who are interested in getting into (or back into) using essential oils and want a good quality without spending too much, this is a good option.

2. Prima Vera – In my opinion, these are the finest essential oils commercially available. Vibrationally, I have yet to find anything higher – and the complexity of aroma and depth of healing they offer is certainly reflected in this. The prices are not cheap, but when you need very high vibrational oils, the price is worth it. I especially like to use Prima Vera oils in aromatherapy massage for emotional release and in combination with energy healing. Sometimes I just wear them as perfumes 🙂 If you are looking for something really special, Prima Vera is my top pick.

3. Ananda Apothecary – This is a smaller, privately owned company started in 2004 which distributes therapeutic-grade essential oils, carrier oils and flower remedies. I stumbled across them a couple of years ago when I was looking for alternatives to Mountain Rose (which I find VERY hit or miss in both the quality and customer service). Their prices are quite reasonable and their customer service excellent. They also offer multiple varieties of many of their oils (from different regions of the world) as well as organic and wild-crafted when available. These are great oils to use for blends for aromatherapy and massage as well as “every-day” use in personal care products. They have a lot of educational information on their site and are very open about their sourcing. I also like supporting smaller independent companies. If you’re looking for a place to find different varieties of oils to experiment with in your blends – this is a great site to explore.

4. NOW FOODS – I’m not sure how long this company has been producing essential oils, but I started to notice them increasingly on the shelves of health food stores a couple of years ago and got curious. I personally do not recommend these essential oils for aromatherapy treatments and/or internal use. However, as they are sold in larger quantities and at very low prices, they are GREAT for cleaning! I do most of my natural cleaning with essential oils and a few other ingredients, and as I don’t really want to spend $25 on a bottle of essential oil that will end up on the floor and down the drain – this is often my go-to brand for the cleaning cupboard (for more information on natural cleaning with essential oil – check out my book here!).

If you have a favourite company or oil – please feel free to share. I’d love to hear your experiences!

Leave a Reply

